If you have been reading my blog for a while, you have probably noticed that I’m a huge dog person. I own one myself. His name is Piki, and he has been making my life happier for the past 8 years. IMG_0696

I have always adored dogs. Some of my favourite childhood memories include dog walks, and hiding myself from that huge one, with a bell around his neck, with my neighbour. I remember the day my friend found two by the river that someone has probably kicked out. They have been adopted, and are probably enjoying spending time with their families now.In 4th grade I even gave a presentation about my dog.

I wanted to have my own so bad that I would not stop torturing my parents about it. I still remember the day I got him, and how he looked at me the moment I called him “Piki”. That day is one of the happiest and best days I remember. Getting a dog was such a big deal for me. I told all of my friends and soon everyone would know me by the fact that I love dogs.IMG_5037

Piki was and still is a big part of my life. I got him when I was 9, and he was with me trough the whole process of being a teenager and “growing up”. I can’t imagine my life without him because he really does make everything better.

We do have some troubles with him sometimes because he is very stubborn and just won’t do what you say if he decides not to. He absolutely hates other male dogs, and he doesn’t get along well with kids because they didn’t treat him well when he was young. But other than that he is a very happy and energetic little dog that never fails to make someone’s day. IMG_0549

Every day when I (or anybody else he knows) come home, he jumps and licks like he haven’t seen me in ages. He comes when we eat, and looks with his big eyes when begging for food. On walks he picks a branch and runs around with it like he is trying to make you play with him. And I could go on. These little things all lead to the fact that life without dogs would be boring.IMG_0657

Why do I love dogs so much? Being cute has nothing to do with it, I could say that’s just a bonus. They are the sweetest, kindest creatures that would literally do anything for you. Even die if they had to. Our furry friends really are our best friends. I’m not saying other animals aren’t great as well, it’s just something about dogs that makes them special.IMG_5050

Not only has been Piki (and other dogs) making my days, but also improved my health. Okay, I never had any bigger problems when it came to my health, but still. I’m sure you’ve all seen the amazing things dogs do. People train them to help the blind, rescue people, they work with police, are good at therapy, helping people getting trough tough times, etc. I’ve noticed something similar with Piki as well. He makes me calm no matter the level of stress I’m going trough. He obviously can’t talk and I could tell him everything if I had to. Dogs don’t judge and they don’t tell your secrets. I don’t know why, but sometimes I have a feeling he understands, or should I say ,is there to support me even though everything I can rely on is his eyes. IMG_5049

There is some kind of connection between humans and dogs that nobody can really explain. I’ve seen that myself a while ago, but I won’t go into details.

Having a dog means having to go for walks with them. It can be a bit “oh do I have to” situation, but it always makes me feel better. Always. Sometimes I’m so stressed out about school or other things, and I have so much going on that the last thing I need is taking my dog out. But I never regret it afterwards. IMG_0558

Being stressed means working even harder and being inside all day, by computer if possible. At least for me. Having Piki forces me to go out, and to breathe some fresh air and relax, even if the walk is very short. It’s much easier to think afterwards and who would have though, all of the problems I have don’t seem so big anymore, when I get back. Of course having a really energetic dog could mean long walks and consequently being in good shape or what so ever. So yes, they can improve mental and physical health.

You can see and learn more about it on the graphic.puppyspot_dogs_health_x2_v02.jpg

It was made by PuppySpot. This is their home page and Puppies page. “PuppySpot is a service committed to helping responsible breeders place their puppies with caring individuals and families.” They are a company that raises puppies and finds them a suitable home. Dogs are raised by professionals. They take good care of them and make sure that they go to the vet regularly, and are healthy before giving them away. Who knows maybe you’ll found a suitable puppy for yourself there. If you go to the Puppies page you can pick gender, age, breed, etc. and read all about their parents, weight and other information. Besides pictures they also have short videos of them, so you get to know your puppy well before you get it. It’s like an online store for puppies, but I have to point out once again that they treat them nice, and take really good care of them.

I suggest you check out their page and watch the video on their “About us” page. That will explain way better who they are than I did, or you can just click here . I haven’t adopted a puppy from them before, but looking at those pictures I want to have them all !

As you may tell they did ask me to include them in my post, but I didn’t get paid so this is NOT a sponsored post. All of the opinions are my own, and I really wanted to help them out a bit, because they really do seem like someone to trust.

Are you a dog lover? Do you have any pets ? If you’ve answered yes to any of these questions, please tell me more in the comments as I’d be very interested in reading that !

Nusha

 

