Have you seen Up ? It’s an animated movie from 2009. You know, the one with a man who tied up 500 balloons on his house so it was able to fly. And then there was the scene of Carl holding the Adventure Book. So beautiful. *wipes a tear* If you have no idea what I’m talking about, go see it. It’s one of my favourite animations.

As you can tell from the title of this post I’ll be sharing with you how I did my own Adventure Book. I’ll actually give it away as a gift which I think is such a great idea. Whether you like that or just want to make one for yourself go ahead and try it. I had so much fun doing it ! I think I’ll actually do myself one as well.

Things you’ll need: IMG_4660.JPG

If I write everything down again:

  • paper with 2 holes (I took a bit thicker paper (A4) and made 2 holes with hole puncher)
  • fabric (the smallest piece is hessian fabric, other two just normal red & brown )
  • glue gun
  • a pencil
  • a ruler
  • a clip (I took this one from an old folder, but binder rings would work great as well)
  • a cutting knife
  • scissors
  • foam rubber
  • cardboard (for the covers, you can also use shoe boxes, wood, etc.)

Firstly, I searched for “Adventure Book” on Google, took a piece of paper and trimmed the letters on a piece of paper.IMG_4595

I’ve cut “M” out, trimmed it again on foam rubber and cut that out as well.

It took a while, so I tried to figure out a way on how to do it quicker. I ended up placing the piece of paper on foam rubber and followed the drawn lines with pressing a pencil really hard.img_4607.jpg

Once you have the letters done, you can start working on the covers. Place the cardboard on fabric and trim it. Make sure to leave about 2 cm on each side.

Do the same with the brown fabric. This time leave 2 cm space on the inner side of the cardboard as this goes on the inside of the book. This were the measurements I had for one side of the cardboard. The full length of it was 38.5 cm, but leaving 2 cm on each side equals 34.5. I hope that makes sense. 1.jpgIMG_4615.JPG

Glue time ! Firstly, the inner part aka brown fabric.IMG_4617Then the red one :IMG_4618IMG_4628Edges can be quite tricky. This is the method I used to glue them : IMG_4682.JPG

Congrats ! You have your covers covered !

It’s time to add pages. You’ll have to glue the clip first.

Then you add paper and secure it.

The final step is decorating the cover. You can just glue the letters on top or add hessian fabric like I did.

This is how it would look like if I hadn’t added the fabric. img_4632.jpg

And this is once I did. img_4640.jpgimg_4642.jpgimg_4645.jpg

That’s it ! Not that hard, huh ? I’d like to point out that there are million ways on doing it. You could use different supplies. Maybe just stick some letters to the binder or a notebook and skip the “gluing the fabric” part. You could draw the letters instead of cutting them out, etc. Art is supposed to be fun. So be creative, go crazy ! Don’t worry if it doesn’t turn out exactly the way you want it to. That’s how art works. I like how mine turned out, even though some details aren’t perfect and you can see some glue on the edges. But hey, I’ll know for the next time !ezgif.com-rotate.gif

Send me pictures if you decide to make it and comment below what you think about the movie !

Nusha

