“I worry too much.” A phrase every human being has said or thought of at least once in their lives.

According to dictionary worrying means :” causing anxiety about actual or potential problems”. See, that’s the thing I don’t get. How can we worry about potential problems if they haven’t happened yet? How do we know what the future will bring ? People don’t believe in magicians and fortune tellers, but they do believe themselves, that they can predict a failure? You can never be sure whether your predictions are right or not. You just want to prevent something bad to happen. Okay, I get that. But why do we worry about things we have no influence on?Literally none.

Let’s take me as an example. I have a test soon. I have more than two weeks to get ready for it. We have a short break from school now which means I’m able to study 24/7 if I want to. It’s the first day of the break and I already worry about not starting to study yet. I’m writing physics exam which,I admit, is not exactly my strength. I never study two weeks before the exam, so why do I worry about not doing it now? Is it because I know my friend is already doing it? I know people need a different amount of time to get things, so again, why? I’m being in a bad mood and feeling sorry for myself. But do I open my books and do it ? No. I know I have enough time, but I feel bad about it at the same time.

I know how stupid that sounds as I’m writing it down. People worry about all kinds of things and there’s me worrying about the stupidest thing possible that doesn’t even have an explanation.

I know everything will be all right at the end. I keep telling myself that I don’t have to worry. That I have enough time.I’m thinking of all these excuses and solutions. But constantly trying to calm myself down is tiring.

Knowing you can do nothing about it is the worst. The best solution is to not think about it. But that’s easier said than done. I don’t know how some people don’t worry about anything. Is it just a thing to say to make you feel better or an actual thing? I imagine their life not being as stressful but can’t see myself in that way either.

It’s weird to say that worrying has brought me quite far. I would be lying if I claimed otherwise. It’s still absolutely one of the worst feelings existing. But if I wouldn’t panic at times I wouldn’t get things done.

I know that how I feel is completely normal. I’m not the only teenager worrying about grades and school. Worrying is a hobby of all generations.

If you can’t help worrying, worrying won’t help you either. Imagine how many times you’ve worried before but everything turned out great at the end. I know it’s impossible to avoid it, but we can at least minimize it. The future will bring what it will and we can’t exactly change that. We can only hope and do things we know will lead us to the right direction.

Let’s all make something towards saying: ” I worry too much.” Let’s swap it with: “I worry when I need/want to.”

Let me know your thoughts about this in the comments!

You might also like:

Bad day

How to get up with a smile on your face

What’s the point ?

 

Nusha

