Mum is one of the first words you say as a child. She’s one of the first people who holds you. Taking care of you and loving you unconditionally are just two of the things mums are good at. Always worrying and wishing you the best. I’m really happy that we have a day dedicated to them. It’s meant for saying thank you for all the things they do for us. But you shouldn’t take that for granted. And Mother’s Day shouldn’t be the only day you think about her and tell her you love her.

Nothing can repay mums for doing their jobs. They don’t want expensive gifts, but some time with you. Especially if you’re all grown up, possibly having family on your own. Just the smallest things can make them happy, because they know you didn’t forget.

I usually make a special lunch for my mum when she gets home from work and do some things instead of her. I almost always bring her flowers and maybe give something more if I get an idea. This year I decided to bake something. I’ve made mini pies filled with forest fruit. It’s a great last-minute idea, so I decided to share the recipe with you.

Mini piesIMG_4250

First of all you have to make a dough for your pie. I made it like so:

Ingredients:
300 g flour
200 g butter
100 g sugar
pinch of salt

You have to slice butter into tiny cubes and then mix everything together, using your hands. If the dough is to try, you can add a few drops of cold water. And there you have it.

Once you have your dough ready, you have to roll it out. Then take a cup, jar, glass or any other “bowl-type-of-thing” and cut out circles. ONWO7128.jpg

Take muffin tray, apply some oil and baking paper on. If you put it in a way that I did it (picture below) it would be much easier to take everything out, once baked. Then just place that circles inside so you create little cups.img_4195.jpgimg_4199-e1490386505557.jpg

Next, prepare your fruit. As I already mentioned, I used forest fruit. I took some wild strawberries, raspberries and blackberries. We had some in the freezer so I put everything on a saucepan and heat it up a bit. Other kinds of fruit would work too.Even jam, maybe. You can take the pie recipe you usually do and do everything as you’d normally do. Just the end result will be different. You’ll get it in a different shape than normally.

Put the “sauce” into your cups. Take the leftover dough and decorate the top. You can leave it the way it is, without adding anything or do the typical stripes pattern.

Last thing to do is place the baking tray into the oven. You have to preheat it to 180 °C ( about 350 F) and bake it for about 30 minutes.

That’s it ! Sprinkle some powdered sugar on top, add vanilla ice cream and berries and there you go.IMG_4253

I’m not a professional and I can’t guarantee you that your pies will look perfect. Feel free to change the recipe completely or add something on your own. Be creative ! Let me know if you decide to make them for Mother’s Day or any other day and how it went. If you do make them for your mum, drop me a comment on her reaction !

Enjoy !

 

Nusha

