As it’s International women’s day I decided to dedicate this blog post to it.IMG_3961

I think we should all remember how many great things were achieved by women and really respect the way they fought for us. If those women from past wouldn’t step together, we wouldn’t be here today the way we are. So big thank you to all female generations before us who were constantly thinking about the future, including our life now.

Searching the internet, many women’s “firsts” can be found. From the first one that got a degree to the first one becoming a president. There are thousands if not millions of them. Each has her story and each of them is something special. Not just because they were the first one that succeeded in doing something that no other girl has ever done before. But they became the history of this all. Each of them was a tiny piece of a bigger picture that we can see now. They all made a step towards women rights.

Imagine how many problems they had. How many of them suffered. Some that came up with something important, but nobody listened to them because they were nothing. How their only responsibility was to stay at home, cook, clean and look after kids. They weren’t allowed to have a “men’s” job, not even to vote. Can you see the difference between now and then? Do you see how important it is that they had the power to change that ?

No matter how much you deny it, there’s a fact. Women can’t live without men nor can men without women. Sorry, but it’s true. And not just because of ability to reproduce and have children. It’s how it supposed to be so I don’t see the point of not being equal. Because women need men exactly as much as men need women.

I’m saying that because I don’t want no man, possibly reading this, to feel discriminated. Judge and negate me as much as you want for writing about so stupid things. Possibly thinking: “Here we go again. Another feminist.” But please just read till the end and try to understand. And if you’ll have any questions after that, let me know. Seriously.

It’s quite hard to be a girl you know? You can’t do things because they are not lady-like, you sometimes can’t be your true self because of not wanting to be judged. If you wear too much make up you’re trying to hard. Everyone loves natural beauty (at least they say so) but they still pick the skinniest, perfect, almost non-real girls as their ideals. You are treated like some “I can’t stand for myself” creature. If you show that you care you do a mistake, because you’re not gentle and girls should be gentle. And you must do things because you’re a girl. And no other reason. No matter how much you have going on, you MUST do it.You CAN do it. You’re a girl.IMG_3992

Giving birth to a child or period cramps are probably not that painful. A kick “down there” is probably worse. Why ? Because women never refuse to have another baby. And there is no man on this planet that wants to be kicked you know where. So if having a baby would be so painful nobody would want to have another one, like boys don’t want the kick ?

You know what the worst part is? That world simply doesn’t understand. I know we are complicated and not easy to figure out. We can’t even figure out ourselves so how do you expect others to do that? I do not feel sorry for myself. I understand actually. I just want men to try and do that too.

I see people tweeting about periods on internet. Why can’t we just keep that blood inside us? Are we really that childish? It’s like a pee after all. Or why don’t we just sit on the toilet and let it go and game over? Like seriously people? Did you really skip all of your biology classes? We learn about other genders for a reason.

Women care too much and our biggest fear is probably to be rejected. Art is something that inspires us. Family is something we care about. We are loving human beings. We’d do anything to protect what we love and stand for. I am not saying that all women are like that and that it’s not possible for some to be aggressive or what so ever, but you get the idea.

The purpose of all of this is to gain respect for women and for things they do. And once again I am NOT trying to humiliate men or say that we’re “something more”. I’m not even sure if I’m a feminist. Wow, what?! A whole post dedicated to some rambling about girl life but not being a feminist ?! Let me explain.IMG_3992

I respect and support girls fighting for equality. And that’s what feminism should really be about. If that is the definition that I’m a 100 % feminist. I admire girls who fought for our rights, without whom we wouldn’t be where we are now. But I see a lot of girls that go too far. They overreact. They start humiliating men and every compliment is meant as a way that they can be treated as an object? I do understand that there are some cases like that. But if somebody says you look beautiful, you can’t be angry with them. Excuse me, but some are so full of themselves that they act like they are something more than others. It’s right to be confident but there’s a limit to it.

Call me crazy, but imagine a situation where you get period, unexpected. You have a little stain on your pants. Okay, so what ? Nothing to be ashamed about ! But you don’t have to wear those jeans for the whole week, even when your period stops just to prove something. I do respect and admire what you do. And I might be overreacting, because I just made that up and I don’t know if somebody does that. I hope you understand what I mean. I’m not against it and I’m not afraid of judging. But there are other ways to do it, just from the aspect of hygiene. If you have a reason then go for it. But to do it just to be “cool, because you’re a feminist ” then stop even trying.

Mother nature created us the way we are. With the ability to create a life inside us. How weird and amazing does that sound? There’s a connection between us. You may not see it or feel it but there is. It’s called girl love. Who would support us and be there for us if we don’t step together and do it ? I’m sure you’ve had a situation when a random girl, you didn’t even know helped you without thinking twice. We understand each other in some weird, unknown way. We are girls. And we have the power.

You know what my mum always says when something goes wrong and I feel like giving up ? I don’t know how to translate it to English without changing the meaning. It’s: “Babe zmoremo !”Similar to: “We are girls.We can do this ! “.

Again, I’m all about equality. I’d change my middle name to equality if I had one or if that would change anything.IMG_4002

So, girl, be who you are. Trust in yourself. You have no idea what you have and how proud you should be of that! Be that amazing little unique person. Grow your talents and follow your dreams. Prove those who don’t treat you right, who you can be and what can you do. Be comfortable in your skin, because that’s what nature gave you and you should be thankful for it. Learn to love yourself. Let’s learn and grow together, as a community. With our bonds so strong that the most powerful force won’t be able to break it. Because we’re girls and we do that. No other reason, but because we’re girls. We are in this together. And you know what we do? We say we can. Why? Because we do.

“Babe zmoremo !”

 

Nusha

