I know I’m super early reading this book. It was published back in 2015 – can’t believe it’s already been 2 years ! While he already published his second one, I’ve only read his first. And what do I think about it? Read below.2

You know when people say you shouldn’t judge the book by its cover? Well, you can in this case. I’m absolutely in love with the design and material of this book. It’s so interesting and unique to look at. I bought myself the first version of the book with a little triangle in the middle, but the second release looks great too. I’m happy they only had this one, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to choose which one to buy. 1

This was probably the first memoir that I read and as you can tell I liked it. Connor Franta is (in case you don’t already know) a Youtuber with over 5 million subscribers. I got to say that there were many Youtubers releasing their books in 2015 but his  was the only one I really wanted to have a look at. 6

I don’t know what was stopping me from not buying it before. He’s one of my favourite social media “stars”. There’s something I like about him and his videos. I love his artsy side with all those cool designs he makes. His videos are a bit different from others and I like that. A lot. It seems like he always puts so much work into them and I really admire that. I also like the way how he speaks openly about being gay and life in general. I think he likes “deep conversations” and I do the same. Generally speaking, I think we’d actually be quite good friends if we ever met.

Okay, you came for the book. It describes his journey from childhood days to becoming a succesful Youtuber. Family pictures, hand writing, letters from mum and dad, etc. make it even more personal and interesting to read. The book is not complicated. It feels like you’re sitting on a couch in his apartment, with a cup of tea in your hands and listen to him as he’s telling you your story. 87

What I liked the most of this book were his “life lessons”. He writes about friendship, love, life, identity, etc. While reading the book I constantly thought to myself : ” Omg ! I’ve been thinking like this for so long but not realizing it.” I agree with pretty much everything he wrote down. I know his struggle of not wanting to say that you’re a Youtuber, because people look at you oddly as I am experiencing the same with being a blogger. I have a scar that I don’t like too. And there’s many more.310

Besides the things that he teaches you and helps you with, the book is full of anecdotes.Boy, did I laugh at that candy he “stole” when he was 6. His writing style is something I don’t think I’ve ever seen before in books. Maybe because I haven’t read any memoirs before. But he writes in a way I write blog posts. You know, with all those inside jokes and comments. It makes everything funnier and more relatable. 11

You can literally find everything in this book. From his love of coffee to why he always takes pictures of his arms. Completely random but quite interesting. I have to say I learned a lot from this book and really enjoyed reading it.It’s the kind of book you happily re-read and  I don’t have a lot of them like that. I would never recommend something I don’t like so seriously why don’t you give it a try? I can’t guarantee you you’d love it but there sure is a part you’d like or find interesting. 45

I’ve hardly put it down once I started reading it, but maybe that’s just because I like him as a person, his personality and am interested in his life. As I said he published his second book titled “Note to self” which I’m very excited to read.It looks so adorable and probably has a great content too. Let’s just hope it won’t take me two years. Again.12

What’s your opinion about this book( if you’ve read it) or “Youtuber” books in general ? Let me know in the comments !

* This is not a sponsored post. All opinions are my own.

 

Nusha

 

